At the Councils AGM which is held every June. Local authorities elect a new Chairman, Cathaoirleach or Mayor (Lord Mayor in the case of Dublin and Cork City Councils) from among their members. This is achieved by way of a simple majority vote. The chairman presides at meetings of the council. A Deputy Mayor is also selected in this process.