How is the Election organised?

The responsibility for conducting the election to each local authority rests with the local authority returning officer. The cost of running the election is met by the local authority. Kerry County Council is now divided into 4 Electoral areas Listowel, Tralee, Killarney & South and West Kerry.
The 2014 Returning Officer for Kerry County Council is Mr. John D. Flynn, Director of Corporate Services. He will lead operations at the Count Centre in the Killarney Sports & Leisure (Aura), covering the Killarney & South West Kerry Electoral Areas.

Mr. Michael McMahon is Deputy Returning Officer and will supervise the count at John Mitchels GAA complex Ballyseedy Tralee for the other 2 County Electoral Areas.